Game of Thrones – can’t be too soon

January 24, 2010 at 2:35 am (Geekery, HBO, Movies, TV) (, , )

Looking something up for the last post hereabouts led me to (of course) Wikipedia, and the news that Harry Lloyd, once Will Scarlet of the latest incarnation of Robin Hood, is going to be playing Viserys Targaryen in the HBO production of Game of Thrones.  Which is a small joy that led me to a series of small joys, and a couple of big ones.  The biggest, which I had known before but which doesn’t hurt to revisit, is that Sean Bean is playing Eddard Stark.  Which is magnificent – – although I do wish it could have been a role that wouldn’t be a new entry in the list of How SB Dies In All His Movies… I can’t remember the exact fate of Ned Stark, or how long it took to befall him, but it wasn’t pretty, and it wasn’t long enough.  I love Mark Addy, of Full Monty and Knight’s Tale, playing Robert Baratheon, or anyone.  There’s a joy.  I liked the short-lived New Amsterdam, which starred Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who will be Jaime Lannister – most excellent.  A small joy: Tamzin Merchant as Daenerys Targaryen; she was a really lovely Georgiana in the last Pride and Prejudice.  

But the best news – after the Sean Bean news – is that Tyrion, a truly amazing character and one I was a bit worried over, is in amazing hands: Peter Dinklage, known to me from The Station Agent, one of my favorite movies.  Oh, marvel(l)ous.  Maybe I will need to look into some kind of cable expansion package.

Leave a Reply

